Reputation Schmeputation — Zero to Hero day 16

ImageWhat is my reputation?  I am not exactly sure of what others think about me and sometimes my inner-critic tells me that people don’t get me at all, but I keep moving forward.  Like Dory says in finding Nemo, “just keep swimming, just keep swimming.”  I make a conscious effort to be a positive force in the world no matter what the world throws at me.  It isn’t always easy but that’s why reputations are built and not handed out as free gifts with purchase.

If I was a fly on the wall of a meeting where a team of experts had to sum me up, here is what I would hope to overhear:

Loving and Encouraging.  She has an amazing way of acknowledging other’s talents and contributions.  Last week she gave me a sincere compliment when I was having a really rough day.  She is not afraid to show gratitude and love and goes out of her way to make people feel valued.  

Insightful.  She sees beyond the obvious.  Reads people and situations.  She has helped me grow by identifying where I may have a blind spot or growth opportunity and then shared it with me in a way that was non-threatening so I could absorb it.  She sees the cause and effect in situations and helps others avoid the school of hard knocks.  She has great intuition.

Smart.  She is creative, innovative, connects dots and is not afraid to try something new or do nothing when appropriate.  She looks at a situation from multiple angles and tries on different options and then makes a decision.  She doesn’t suffer from analysis paralysis, she takes action. If I had a tough problem to solve, a party to plan or a story that needed telling I would want her on my team. 

Fun.  She has a great sense of humor and doesn’t take herself or most situations too seriously.  She is always willing to break the tension with a joke.  I walked into her office and caught her dancing the other day!  She is a positive and happy person and shares her joy for life with everyone she meets.  I just like to be around her.

Hard working.  She does what she says she will do and gets things done.  She symbolizes excellence and expects excellence from others.  She doesn’t have much tolerance for half-hearted efforts and can be hard to please.  She seems to catch me every time I rush through something just to get it off my plate.  I have learned a lot from her.  When she tells me I did a great job I am very proud. 

15 thoughts on “Reputation Schmeputation — Zero to Hero day 16

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Extreme Anxiety | alienorajt

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  4. Pingback: Share Your World – 2014 Week 1 | Khana's Web

  5. Pingback: “I’ve got a rad reputation / as a cool dude” | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: Reputation | LOQUACITÉ

  7. Pingback: It Precedes Me | 20/20 Hines Sight

  8. I loved the title of this post haha! 🙂 But I would hope that it doesn’t matter what your reputation or reputations is/are, as long as you believe you are those five things you’ve outlined– because if you’re like me, then on some frizzy-spirited days, they can be WORK– it should be more than enough for you. I personally stay hyper-conscious of lapsing into caring more about what people notice about me than what I am maybe 90% of the time, what I myself strive to be. 🙂

    • Thank you! You are so right. I enjoy writing these things down as it helps me stay aligned with how I want to walk through each day. I know we can’t control what others think. One thing I also focus on is trying to see what reputation others are trying to build and not focusing on the occasional slip up but see the bigger picture. Cindy

Leave a Reply

